Movie Review: Ah Boys to Men

pc_600x450

The timing that I caught this movie could not be more apt.

I outpro (out-processd) from my 6th high key ICT (in-camp training) on a Thursday and caught this army movie on the very next day, with the past 3 weeks’ still extremely fresh in my mind. See my recent post.

First things first.

I go to see this movie knowing what I’ll expect from a typical Jack Neo show – local dialects with Singaporean slapstick humour. So I don’t expect any Oscar-winning cinematography, thought-provoking script, thespian acting or heart wrenching music scores. Any other extras will be a bonus.

Besides all the real depictions of army life then and now, I kinda liked his opening camera-panning sequence over many Singaporean landmarks and districts. It’s just something I don’t get to see much on the big screen, so familiarity sinks very nicely close to my heart.

The opening sequence of the attack and war scenes in familiar parts of Singapore did strike a chord in me, and the CGI sequences, though not James Cameron level, was passable. I was surprised that SAF (Singapore Armed Forces) gave Jack Neo lots of assistance in terms of military equipment, vehicles, camps and locations shoots.

The ubiquitous CB leaf scene puzzled me for the blurred out (self censorship I suppose?) portion where they showed why it was called The CB leaf. I thought that there was really nothing R-rated in showing the actual portion of the base stem where it opened into the leaf.

And one of my favourite sergeants was the one from the past, acted by Justin Mission.

Justin Mission playing old time sergeant

This character suits Justin to a “T”. Knowing him from his D&D emcee gigs, he is a real joker and one extremely animated character. Something like our Singapore version of Jim Carrey. And the foul-mouthed Hokkien spewing, wise-cracking and psycho sergeant is extremely fun to watch.

The main lead character is nothing to shout about. I prefer his buddy, Mr Lobang king, who is all street-smarts and also quite a comedian.

That said, I reckon Jack Neo is the smartest alec around, splitting this movie into 2 parts, with Part 2 slated for a February 2013 release during the CNY (Chinese New Year) period.

From $ to more $$$ dollars.

Not bang, bang, bang.

But Ka-ching, Ka-ching, Ka-ching.

5 responses to “Movie Review: Ah Boys to Men

  1. Jack’s definitely aiming to rake in the big bucks with these flicks. The first was pretty funny, a bit of Officer And The Gentleman.

  2. I saw Part 2 on Thursday. A bit slow in the middle, hampered by the faecal attack. Heavy dash of moralising at the end.

  3. For those that didn’t know, Justin was an instructor in sispec, and he was quite himself as a seargent in the movie. His “Take your time!” was the most often yelled outbursts to us trainees and yes change parades were part of his training arsenal…brings back memories of those tough and rough days :p

Leave a Reply

